Marriage License
How to Apply

Contact the Stone County Recorder's Office at 417-357-6362 for an appointment and log
on to marriage.icounty.com to fill out our pre marriage application

Both parties must appear in person at the Recorder's office with valid photo ID and social
security number.

We accept applicants by appointment only Monday-Friday 9:00 am to 3:00 pm (except
holidays). The license fee of $60.00 must be paid by cash or card at the time of application.
{convenience fee for card use) No refunds.

It is a misdemeanor for anyone to perform a marriage ceremony if a license is not presented
prior to the ceremony (451.120 RSMe.). The marriage is invalid if the ceremony takes place
before the license is picked up or if it is not used in the state of Missouri.

Marriage License Checklist

$60 for license and one certified copy. Cash or Card (convenience fee for card use)
Valid U.S. photo | D.

Social Security Number

Proof of Age

Parent or guardian for consent (Age 16-17)
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When to pick up License

If you are getting married within 30 days from application, you may take your license the same
day you apply. You can apply up to three months in advance and pick up your license at the
appropriate time.

License must be picked up before the ceremony can be performed (see above note). Anyone
previously designated may pick up the license. The marriage license is valid for 30 days from
the date of 1ssuance and may be used anywhere within the State of Missouri.

What to do with the License

You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage. The
person performing the ceremony must complete the left portion of the license. have two
witnesses sign it. and retum it to the Recorder's office within 15 days after the wedding. The
license becomes a permanent record. (The right portion is the Marriage Certificate that is filled
out by the minister and retained by the parties as evidence of the marriage)



Proof of age Identification

Identification and proof of age is required of ALL persons. The following proof of age documents
will be accepted.

* Ages 16 through 17: Valid U S. government issued photo |. D. AND Parental
Consent with proof of custody. (a Birth Certificate may be required if proof of age
IS in question).

+ Age 18 and over: Valid U S. government issued photo 1.D (a Birth Certificate
may be required if proof of age is in question).

4 Individuals 21 or older may not marry an individual under 18 years of age.
(RSMo451.090 08/28/18)

Qualifications

Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, may not marry under the laws of the State
of Missourni. No distinction is made between resident and non-resident individuals.

Applicants must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. Persons between the
ages of 16 and 17 may obtain a license with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Parents
or legal guardians must give consent in person (at the time of application) and have proper
identification and proof of custody if divorced or never married. If a legal guardian is giving
consent, a certified copy of guardianship papers must be presented.

No license will be issued to a person 21 or older if the other person is less than 18 years of age.
(Rev RShMo 451.090 08/28/18)

Previously married applicants must give the date their last marriage ended. Persons divorced

less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they acknowledge. in writing, they
understand the divorce can be appealed or set aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.

After your Marriage
Name Change and Marital Status

A certified copy of your Stone County issued marriage license is required by Social Security to
change your name. You can obtain a certified copy of your license in the following ways:

How do | obtain a copy of my Stone County marriage license?

1. As soon as the license is returmed to us, we will mail you the certified copy included in
this application fee.
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After your marriage and after your license is returned to us, you may pick up additional
copies in our office for $9 (cash/card).

You may call and pay for additional copies using a card (convenience fee applies) and
we can mail a certified copy to you.

4. Send a written request. enclose the names of the parties. a self-addressed stamped
envelope and a $9 payment to: Recorder of Deeds 108A East Fourth Street PO Box 186
Galena MO 65656. A certified copy will be mailed to you upon receipt.
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You should contact the following agencies to change your name and notify them of your marital
siatus

» Any Drivers License Office:

s Voter Registration:

» Social Security Administration 1570 W Battlefield Springfield MO 65807. It is possible
to request a name change online at www ssa gov/myaccount

Marriage License Fee Distribution:

Children’s Trust Fund of Missouri £15.00
Shelter Fund for Abused Women 310.00
Stone County General Revenug 31500
State & County User Fee 54 00
County Employees Retirament Svstem 57.00

Certified Copy 9.00



